April 15, 2024, 09:57:32 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Overfill primary

Started by tbird, May 18, 2019, 10:58:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tbird

I have a 07 ultra with 24,000 on the clock. No problems as of yet with the compensator. I read on a previous post where the owner of a 07 is running 8 oz extra in the primary for extra lubing of the comp. Any reason not to do this? Can any harm happen by doing this? Oil is cheap!

koko3052

I think that you may have "clutch drag" and then shifting issues.

Jim Bronson

Quote from: koko3052 on May 18, 2019, 11:32:40 AM
I think that you may have "clutch drag" and then shifting issues.
I've read that too, but I have no experience. You could give it a try and have a turkey baster handy.
Going down that long, lonesome highway. Gonna live life my way.

Boe Cole

I've found that if you overfill the primary shifting becomes difficult and you end up with clutch drag.  Best to stop filling when the fluid touches the clutch plates.  I go by visual versus ounces.  when the fluid touches the bottom of the clutch plate, I stop filling.
We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

fleetmechanic

Quote from: Boe Cole on May 18, 2019, 06:10:56 PM
I've found that if you overfill the primary shifting becomes difficult and you end up with clutch drag.  Best to stop filling when the fluid touches the clutch plates.  I go by visual versus ounces.  when the fluid touches the bottom of the clutch plate, I stop filling.
:agree:
If the fluid is any higher than the edge of the plates, the oil tends to get between the plates and cause sticking through surface tension.

Phu Cat