April 30, 2024, 10:50:41 AM

News:

CV Carb on a Panhead Motor ???

Started by JamLazyAss, November 26, 2008, 02:43:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamLazyAss

I've been reading that the CV Carb's are pretty much the cats ass on a Panhead motor.
I looked at a couple on eBay today.
The intake side on the carb is round. How do you mount this to a Panhead manifold?
Is there an adaptor?
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

CraigArizona85248

Yes, there are a couple different types of adapters.  Both adapters are setup to mount the carb on a S&S style two-bolt intake manifold.  I have not seen an adapter to mount the carb on a OEM Linkert intake.

As I mentioned there are two types of adapters.  One is a press on fit, the other is a rubber adapter that the CV carb slides into.  I've used both and prefer the press on type.  They have less tendency to leak around the carb throat.  Also, the press on adapter gives stronger support to the carb.  Either way, you will need a support braket connected to the air cleaner backing plate to properly support the weight of the carb.

Another item of note... the S&S intake manifold has a tendancy to put the carb way to the outside.  I had my intake shortened in order to pull the carb in nice and tight against the motor.  I also had the manifold offset to move the carb back about 1/8" towards the rear of the bike.  I did this to make room for the throttle cable linkage.

Here is my shortened and offset S&S intake manifold:

Closeup of the carb, you can see why I had to offset to the rear slightly.  It's a tight fit.

Closeup of the linkage.  It barely clears the head on the front cylinder.  The linkage is modified slightly to make more room.

Here is the carb mounted on the motor after shortening the intake.  Pulled in nice and tight.