Author Topic: Noise after cam install  (Read 771 times)

Offline barrygreen

Noise after cam install
« on: February 09, 2018, 02:35:33 PM »
Just upgraded my 2014 103 to the CR570-2 cams. Getting valve train noise. I have the S&S Premium Lifters, also did the Zippers dual piston chain tensioners along with the Axtell oil bypass valve and SE Adjustable push rods set at 3 turns. So it may just be me but I have engine noise...Valve Train and a cam chest rattle at idle, sometimes.
I have re adjusted the push rods 3 times. It just does not sound right to me. It has been in the 40's to 60's here and the oil pressure is at lowest 17, highest 42. I am a retired tech of 45 years and not afraid to ask but it seems or sounds like a oiling issue. I will be taking it apart and looking but I suspect the oil bypass valve....when I installed it I barely had to push on the spring spacer to install the pin. At this point I am thinking if I have to tear it down again to replace the plate and pump also to a upgraded set.
Bike runs fantastic, Really like the cams but the noise is more than stock . I know you get noise from different cam ramp design and I am setting on top of a engine but it just does not seem right.
Any input is appreciated.

Online les

Re: Noise after cam install
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2018, 05:08:51 PM »
Did you remember to put the two little brown O-rings in the oil channel holes between the cam plate and the casing?

Online PoorUB

• Site Supporter
  • Tropical Fargo, ND
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2018, 06:46:57 PM »
Idle at 17 PSI should be fine. From the pressures you posted I don't see any oil problem.
I am an adult?? When did that happen, and how do I make it stop?!

Offline Nutoy

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2018, 06:51:19 PM »
Berry the way you describe the valve install and oil pressure sounds right to me.

Offline Nutoy

« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2018, 06:57:43 PM »