Author Topic: Another beef with the Boom GPS  (Read 503 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FurryOne

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: us
Another beef with the Boom GPS
« on: September 16, 2017, 08:59:23 PM »
Another day, another problem with the GPS... I put in the Zip code, then the Street - all is fine, but then I try to enter the street number and it grays-out the numbers I need to put in, as though that address doesn't exist on that street.  Previously I tried to select a friend's address and though I had the city & state selected, when I started typing the street name it offered two options - both in different states!  Sheesh!

Offline Coyote

  • HTT Janitor
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12489
  • Country: us
  • The foothills of northern CA
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2017, 09:08:19 PM »
Garmin....  :idunno:
I feel the need... for twisties with speed.

Offline 76shuvlinoff

  • Thread Locker
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15730
  • Country: us
  • 76 FLH -93" 12 FLHTCU, 103" Michigan
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2017, 04:47:08 AM »
Garmin....  :idunno:

 That'll be my move on my 12 when my PITA Tom Tom dies, but the damn thing won't die so I may have to expedite that.
Being defenseless does not make you more safe.

Offline FurryOne

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: us
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2017, 05:33:01 PM »
Garmin....  :idunno:

 That'll be my move on my 12 when my PITA Tom Tom dies, but the damn thing won't die so I may have to expedite that.

I've got a TomTom One XL sitting in a drawer.  It worked great for a time, then started taking longer to lock in, and finally I'd get to work and it was still trying!  Now it says "no maps found" and TT discontinued support. Phhhiiitt!

Offline Breeze

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2318
  • Country: us
  • middle Georgia '68 Shovel,'92 Dyna, '07 E.Glide
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2017, 03:56:49 AM »
Who the hell knows the zip code of places they want to go?  :scratch:   That might be ok, IF it's for a delivery vehicle.
I'm starting to believe my body is gonna outlast my mind.

Offline PoorUB

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13446
  • Country: us
  • Tropical Fargo, ND
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2017, 05:08:03 AM »
Another day, another problem with the GPS... I put in the Zip code, then the Street - all is fine, but then I try to enter the street number and it grays-out the numbers I need to put in, as though that address doesn't exist on that street.  Previously I tried to select a friend's address and though I had the city & state selected, when I started typing the street name it offered two options - both in different states!  Sheesh!

I have had that happen on my regular Garmin. It can only get you there if the data is programmed into the unit.

As for zip codes, I have never had to put in a zip, just the city and ignore the zip.
I am an adult?? When did that happen, and how do I make it stop?!

Offline moose

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2856
  • Country: us
  • Toms River New Jersey
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2017, 05:42:43 AM »
my bud runs a new garmin instead of his boom unit and has no problems at all  he also said his harley boom sucks
Moose aka Glenn- If It Is To Be It Is Up To Me
10 2 letter works to live by

Offline PoorUB

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13446
  • Country: us
  • Tropical Fargo, ND
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2017, 03:22:00 PM »
I run both. I like the ease of use better on my Garmin. Hate that I can not change my route on the fly with the Boom GPS. When traveling I will put the last stop of the day in the Boom, (motel or whatever), and run the next stop in the Garmin. I don't mind the Boom, just wish I could mess with it on the fly.
I am an adult?? When did that happen, and how do I make it stop?!

Offline Neon Moon

  • Site Supporter
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: us
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2017, 06:54:44 PM »
Boom can't even find there own dealerships :nix:

Offline PoorUB

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13446
  • Country: us
  • Tropical Fargo, ND
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2017, 07:07:40 PM »
Boom can't even find there own dealerships :nix:

That is the last thing I use to judge a GPS! If I need a dealership I can find one easily. I don't need a GPS to do that.

I find it almost comical that HD dealers are loaded into the Boom GPS. I understand why, but most of us don't need to stop at every HD dealer to buy another T-shirt.
I am an adult?? When did that happen, and how do I make it stop?!

Offline FurryOne

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: us
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2017, 05:10:07 PM »
Boom can't even find there own dealerships :nix:

Sometimes that's a good thing!   :potstir:

Offline jm7480

  • Site Supporter
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: us
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2017, 06:38:17 PM »
 :agree:
Ive been using a Garmin products for over 10 years and have had a  Garmin 590 since it came out. It works great easy to use , and i can create routes either in basecamp or directly on the unit. I tried using the HD GPS  but every time I did there would be a different glitch. Like it was mentioned even the dealer coordinates are incorrect, usually off by a few hundred yards.
I look at it as a tool i use to find places ive never been before.

Offline Neon Moon

  • Site Supporter
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: us
Re: Another beef with the Boom GPS
« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2017, 05:42:06 PM »
Yes, Poor your right. I use it as entertainment. I'm old school. I can read a Rand McNally. As for Garmans and other GPS I don't  own one. Been driving truck for 36 years. Google maps is free and works,for me. :nix: