Preparing to refresh my first top-end, pics and questions

Started by SixShooter14, January 16, 2020, 05:51:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pete_Vit

Quote from: SixShooter14 on January 30, 2020, 08:55:31 AM
Quote from: Pete_Vit on January 30, 2020, 08:49:43 AM
Quote from: SixShooter14 on January 28, 2020, 08:18:14 PM
Yep, I have an electronic and hard SM and bookmarked the online parts manual that has the exploded views and part numbers.

I've replaced the rocker box gaskets before with the help of Pete. But this is my first time tackling it alone and then going further.

I have boxes labeled for front and rear and will bag and tag the parts to match fr/rr, in/ex. And I will be taking pictures as well, for my use and to share here so that I know what I'm looking at. Should be able to get both rocker boxes off tomorrow, might get the heads and jugs off too.
I did my base gaskets 2 years ago, took my jugs and heads to Rodney's, @ 110,000 miles, I needed some valves, new guides and seats, the jugs were good, just a freshen up, I got new pistons and rings, like others have said it depends on how deep you want to get, I did go too far I guess with new hardware (studs and head bolts) but that was my choice.
the job was not so bad, just took my time, step by step, the most important was the touque pattern and values, I think you'll be Ok if you just want to do the base gaskets, I forget how many miles you had on that bike  :unsure:
Hey Pete, Do you know if they still do machine work at Rodney's?
yes they  do  the only thing is Eddie is 'contracting' there now, so he works when he's needed, but I've never had any issues with any of there work
93 XLH1200 - 96 FXSTS - 2010 Ultra Glide Classic
www.facebook.com/harleypartsch

twincamzz

When I did the top end on my Evo I used a "base gasket bypass pig tail kit "
Mid USA part #60146.