April 25, 2024, 12:37:24 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Front suspension upgrade Heritage Softail

Started by Stuffa, January 24, 2020, 03:57:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Stuffa

I've been running with race tech springs and emulators for a few years. These are better than stock but are a bit harsh mainly when hitting bumps in the road. I'm having a back op next month.
I have been looking for a better suspension package but doesn't seem to be a lot on offer for the Heritage.
Traxxion AK 20's is one option and Legend say they are releasing AXEO cartridge sometime this year.
I would like some input as to what people have installed and how they find them

Scotty

January 24, 2020, 04:02:59 PM #1 Last Edit: January 24, 2020, 09:08:56 PM by Scotty
I pulled racetech springs out and replaced with progressive springs (yeah yeah heard all the doomsayers say it don't work and blah blah)
Best thing I ever did and done quite a few bikes for other people and for the money spent no-one has complained.
I found the racetech springs very harsh on Aussie roads but the gold valves are great so keep them.

biggzed

Not sure what year your Heritage is, but it looks like Progressive makes a Monotube kit for softail applications. I really liked the ride when I installed them on my Road Glide. Might check in to those.

Zach

ThumperDeuce

Idiots are fun, no wonder every village wants one.

92flhtcu

For the money, the Progressive Springs are great upgrade over stock, not having experienced your current set-up, it may be better or not. I've never heard one complaint from replacing stock springs with the Progressive springs. The Progressive Tube kits are usually well received also, but are substantially more money
Need a bigger garage

wolf_59

Tried the monotubes on my 06 ultra turned it from too soft stock ride to extremely harsh went with the progressive springs no complaints