April 16, 2024, 11:17:31 AM

News:

2011 Road King

Started by xlfan, March 29, 2020, 12:04:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

xlfan

Is there any good reasons NOT to run 80/90W transmission oil in the gearbox of these 6-speeds?

PoorUB

Any problem? Nope! It is probably better than what HD will sell you for it.

I run 75W-140 synthetic.
I am an adult?? When did that happen, and how do I make it stop?!

jmorton10

I've never used it before (I have used Redline HD Shockproof in my trannies for years) but when I completed installing my new Baker Grudgebox a few weeks ago I filled it with Spectro 75-140 because Baker recommended it, & I know it works so well I will keep running it.

~John
HC 124", Dragula, Pingel air shift W/Dyna Shift Minder & onboard compressor, NOS

Ohio HD

No reason at all not to use 80w90 gear oil. Use synthetic if you want, it can only help.   

No Cents

March 29, 2020, 03:03:51 PM #4 Last Edit: March 29, 2020, 03:08:31 PM by No Cents
  I've tried numerous brand name 75w140 gear oils in my tranny over the years. The Lucas Oil synthetic 75w140 makes a noticeable difference over all other brands I've tried. My tranny shifts like butter. The only place I have found that carries it around me locally is Pep Boys. The Lucas synthetic 75w140 is worth every penny in my book.
  If you have the means to get a bottle of this stuff...you won't be disappointed with the results.  :wink:

[attach=0,msg1339631]
08 FLHX my grocery getter, 124ci, wfolarry 110" heads, Burns pipe, 158/152 sae

PoorUB

I have used what ever 75W140  syn I  can find. Can't say I notice any difference between any of them. I couldn't say for sure what went in last time, maybe Redline, what ever O'Reily has on the shelf.

I will say with the 75W140 the tranny is not as noisy as it was with 90 weight.
I am an adult?? When did that happen, and how do I make it stop?!

jmorton10

Quote from: No Cents on March 29, 2020, 03:03:51 PM