April 27, 2024, 10:19:00 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

clutch slippage and fluid type M8 114 2019

Started by KatalogKarl, March 30, 2020, 12:21:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

KatalogKarl

Need a little input on what to use here. 2019 M8 114 FXDRS. Local guy who I helped with his shovel. Got himself one of these. Exhaust, Air filter and installed air/fuel program change. Bike around 6k mileage. Was TEST bike from dealer here in west central FL. Told it had some mileage on it. I am new to this engine/electronics/design. Still riding shovels. So- after this guy loads all this into his bike a runs it as such for 3 months he asked me to ride it and note if clutch may be slipping. No issues with 1st and 2nd. from 3rd up when around 2500-2800 goose it and a slight slip felt.. He had me take clutches out to inspect disks and steels. No warpage or burnt steel or glazed discs. So a possible clutch spring problem? feels like it. Also what is decent primary/clutch fluid used? In my shovel (ATF) is used. This bike is crisp, torquey and pulls good thru all rpms and gears. Just not a fan of leaning down as is what happens on sport bikes. Just some input as I said this type of configure of a (HD) is new to me. Thanks Karl

KatalogKarl

Needed to add. so I found out what tuner is installed on this scoot. Its a Thundermax tuner. Do not know if this makes a difference but looking at what it is and cost a considerable performance part. As  this mechanicals is NEW to me. 

kd

March 30, 2020, 07:33:15 AM #2 Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 08:34:09 AM by kd