March 28, 2024, 02:50:42 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Pan crate engine

Started by Excalibur, June 09, 2020, 05:29:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Excalibur

Quite recently the price of the 82" V-twin replica became a lot more affordable so I'm thinking of putting one in a '83 Shovelhead rolling chassis. It has open belt primary. I'd like to run a SU carb.
V-Twin #10-1425 $5,469.99
I seem to recall hearing there's a difference in 4speed trans shaft lengths between early and late. What do I need to know?
Looking around I can't find specs for this engine. Even V-twin's site isn't currently very helpful. I seem to remember their motors have S&S cases, oil pump etc.
Who's run one? What fits? What are the pitfalls?
Thanks for any help.

Ohio HD

Pan Heads will have the shortest mainshaft.

I have zero experience with a Tedd Cycle motor. And I'll only go as far to say I never will have experience with a Tedd Cycle motor.

Excalibur

Thanks Ohio HD, that solves what mainshaft I have. Great illustration. Mine must be the 12.470.

What varies on the engine to suit? Is it shaft length or sprocket/pulley variation?  I could picture my pulley if it helps?

BTW, I'd buy an OEM Pan engine if there was one. Unfortunately there's never been a Pan engine come onto the open market here (NZ) in the last 10 years. Shovel, Evo, 45 or J engines yes, but no Pans. If I want one, it needs to come in from overseas.

My wishlist for the engine is overhead oilers, Y intake, bolt up exhaust.. I may have to be realistic and pragmatic about it all but first I want to understand what will actually bolt in and fit.

Appreciate any help. Please comment, thanks.

cheech

FYI if you aren't aware. S&S sells repop pan engines. Even ones to fit a later chassis as you're wanting to do. This page
Of course more money than the Tedd V Twin ones. But probably way better quality.

drifter