March 29, 2024, 04:08:33 AM

News:

Decel popping

Started by DYankee, June 23, 2020, 06:30:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DYankee

My experience has been when a bike has decel popping it's always been an exhaust leak.

I just put in a 120ST and it has popped a lot from day one. I've got a Powervision and I tried to autotune after installing the motor, but it didn't help. I loosened up the exhaust and retightened it from the heads back and that didn't help.

Finally decided to get it dynoed and the tuner charged me an extra $350 because he said he had to put new exhaust gaskets on it.

Thing still pops too much. I've never dealt with the dyno guy before and don't know how good he is.

Could it be something in the tune that would cause the popping?
Double Dark 13 Ultra Limited
11 Wide Glide

Coyote

Quote from: DYankee on June 23, 2020, 06:30:37 PM

Could it be something in the tune that would cause the popping?

:koolaid3:

Ohio HD

I'm far from a pro tuner, but what usually works for me is add timing to closed throttle decel. If that doesn't work, add a little fuel as well at decel.

Pirsch Fire Wagon

1. Check the intake for Leaks with Propane - "most times" a good tune will be altered by an intake leak allowing inaccurate AFR Ratio at the Cylinder and not the Throttle Body/Intake

2. If that checks out,

a. What type Fuel? Ethanol, non-ethanol? Octane?

b. Using AFR or LAMBDA?

3. This sounds counter-intuitive note where, speed/RPM the popping occurs and add fuel in that cell and the surrounding cells x 3. Min AFR 13.9 (L 0.94) AFR 13.2 (L 0.89).

4. I find it all but eliminates it 100%
Tom

DYankee

Thanks Ohio I can do that with the quick tune.

Fire Wagon- Fuel is sometime 10% corn, 91 to 93 octain
Don't know about lambda or AFR

Propane just sounds scary, but I will see what I can find on an intake leak.

Thanks for the help.
Double Dark 13 Ultra Limited
11 Wide Glide

HV