Author Topic: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence  (Read 331 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline HV

  • New Brunswick CANADA ( East Coast )
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7523
  • Country: ca
  • 2013 FLTRX * Member Dec/2000*
    • HTT Admin
Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« on: June 28, 2020, 06:19:29 AM »
Question for tune licence users...When I try to pull the current tune on older bikes ...08 back...it says PV not Married to ECM.... but Ive applied the licence etc....works to tune no problem and flash a map ... but all I can do is get the STK file out....and the WINPV wont read that unless there is a way to convert the .stk file to a .pvt   Note... Powercore reads newer .stk files ...but not older ones
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT

Online Ohio HD

  • OH CRAP!
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23177
  • Country: us
  • Si vis pacem, para bellum
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2020, 08:42:15 AM »
HV from my notes, here's what I did to retrieve and convert the .stk to a .pvt file.

It's been about three years since I've used a PV, so my memory of this is dim. That's why I keep the notes.



In the PV unit: Program/Load Copy of Stock
                      Load the .stk file in the Tune Manager
                     This converts the .stk to a .pvt
                     Save .pvt to hard drive
                    The new .pvt can be loaded and viewed in PV now.



  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  
For the best deal on bike parts, call Calif Phil
     www.harleypartscheap.com

Offline HV

  • New Brunswick CANADA ( East Coast )
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7523
  • Country: ca
  • 2013 FLTRX * Member Dec/2000*
    • HTT Admin
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2020, 09:02:25 AM »
HV from my notes, here's what I did to retrieve and convert the .stk to a .pvt file.

It's been about three years since I've used a PV, so my memory of this is dim. That's why I keep the notes.



In the PV unit: Program/Load Copy of Stock
                      Load the .stk file in the Tune Manager
                     This converts the .stk to a .pvt
                     Save .pvt to hard drive
                    The new .pvt can be loaded and viewed in PV now.



  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

My issue is...when I click load copy of current or original etc it says PV not married to ECM....and will not retrieve it to save to the tune manager in the PV...and the licence has been applied and confirmed as sent to the PV... it saves the .stk from read the ECM.....but there is no option that I know of to load it directly to the tune manager of the PV  although I am getting stupid in my old age... :SM:
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT

Online Ohio HD

  • OH CRAP!
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 23177
  • Country: us
  • Si vis pacem, para bellum
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2020, 09:15:51 AM »
I follow now. Being a 'license file" usage, might it act differently than if the PV it's self were licensed to the ECM?
For the best deal on bike parts, call Calif Phil
     www.harleypartscheap.com

Offline HV

  • New Brunswick CANADA ( East Coast )
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7523
  • Country: ca
  • 2013 FLTRX * Member Dec/2000*
    • HTT Admin
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2020, 09:27:36 AM »
Could be...Ive only ever used it with the tune licences.....so its never married to a bike per say or locked
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT

Offline cheech

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 367
  • Country: us
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2020, 09:36:17 AM »
Do you have the .STK file on your PC?

Offline HV

  • New Brunswick CANADA ( East Coast )
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7523
  • Country: ca
  • 2013 FLTRX * Member Dec/2000*
    • HTT Admin
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2020, 09:39:25 AM »
yes
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT

Offline cheech

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 367
  • Country: us
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2020, 09:53:39 AM »
Are you wanting to work with the stock tune?
Mine isn't in front of me at house.
When you drew the .STK file out to get the license on it, did it go into the tune manager?

Offline HV

  • New Brunswick CANADA ( East Coast )
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7523
  • Country: ca
  • 2013 FLTRX * Member Dec/2000*
    • HTT Admin
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2020, 09:58:54 AM »
I like to look at the stock tune to see if its close to what Im working with for a base.... when I get the .stk its just saved to my HD or used to create the Licence  ( Using the WinPV Get licence manager )...I dont see an option to send it to the tune manager 
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT

Offline HV

  • New Brunswick CANADA ( East Coast )
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7523
  • Country: ca
  • 2013 FLTRX * Member Dec/2000*
    • HTT Admin
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2020, 10:03:50 AM »
Using the PV as it normally is to tune a bike its married to you click get Copy of original tune or Get current tune and its then saved to a slot in the tune manager ....then its easy to get with WinPV and read
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT

Offline cheech

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 367
  • Country: us
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2020, 10:45:14 AM »
Did you try this below?
Powervision tab at the top toolbar, then diagnostic functions.
Where does it go? Hopefully to tune manager. Then you can "get tune" to have it converted from Tune manager as Ohio said.
  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]  

Offline HV

  • New Brunswick CANADA ( East Coast )
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7523
  • Country: ca
  • 2013 FLTRX * Member Dec/2000*
    • HTT Admin
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2020, 02:40:51 PM »
That sends it to the PV as it does with a tune Licence   it does not go to the tune manager....lol 
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT

Offline HV

  • New Brunswick CANADA ( East Coast )
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7523
  • Country: ca
  • 2013 FLTRX * Member Dec/2000*
    • HTT Admin
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2020, 02:53:42 PM »
Using Diagnostic mode You can get any .stk file stored in the PV from past tunes...but they are still all a .stk  file...
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT

Offline cheech

  • Site Supporter
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 367
  • Country: us
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2020, 03:26:20 PM »
Bummer.  :crook:

Offline JMHD

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: ca
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2020, 09:49:36 PM »
I couldn't pull the original or copy from an ecm with the PV unit i use for licensing until i married it to a bike. Once it was married to an ecm i could pull the original tune  on any bike once i retrieved the stk and applied the license. Not sure if that helps but hopefully. :beer:

Offline HV

  • New Brunswick CANADA ( East Coast )
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7523
  • Country: ca
  • 2013 FLTRX * Member Dec/2000*
    • HTT Admin
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #15 on: June 29, 2020, 03:15:46 AM »
Thanks JMHD   Thats where I could be going wrong.... :up:
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT

Offline JMHD

  • Full Member
  • Posts: 90
  • Country: ca
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2020, 06:04:07 AM »
Thanks JMHD   Thats where I could be going wrong.... :up:
Your welcome HV .  Its like a bonus license!  :up:

Offline Jamie Long

  • Premium Vendor
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1286
  • Country: 00
    • Fuel Moto USA
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2020, 07:34:11 AM »
"Copy of Original" and "Copy of Current" functions do not work until the Tune License is applied for that specific bike.

Offline HV

  • New Brunswick CANADA ( East Coast )
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7523
  • Country: ca
  • 2013 FLTRX * Member Dec/2000*
    • HTT Admin
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2020, 08:16:41 AM »
 :up:
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT

Offline HV

  • New Brunswick CANADA ( East Coast )
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7523
  • Country: ca
  • 2013 FLTRX * Member Dec/2000*
    • HTT Admin
Re: Pulling current tune with Powervision Tune licence
« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2020, 08:32:34 AM »
I was sure I had applied the License first... but must have been mistaken....Ill try next one I do
HV HTT Admin ..Ride Safe ...But Ride informed with HTT !!
Skype HV.HTT