April 19, 2024, 09:41:36 PM

News:

Blister in my tank's paint. Can it be fixed?

Started by Molly, January 25, 2021, 01:06:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Molly

Hi guys. There's a pretty big blister in my tank's paint (dead centre in the following pic). Would you know if it's possible to get something like this fixed or is the only answer a full refin?

Thanks in advance for any advice you're able to offer.

[attach=0]

Appowner

Is that an actual blister or has someones knee been rubbing against it while riding?  Looks more like the latter to me but pics can be deceiving.

As for fixing it, being all the same color I'd say it's worth a try.  It's less complicated than you might think.  Do it yourself or do you plan on having someone do it for you?

If it were mine I'd give it a shot but then I have some painting experience from a hobby of mine.  If you do it yourself get the colors, primer, base, etc from HD (assuming it's a factory paint job).  Paint these days is not a simple rattle can experience.

I had a wrench attack my front fender some years ago.  Two different color pin stripes and two different met reds involved.  Took me two weeks but I did manage to sand it down, replace the base coat etc., build it all back up and clear coat it.  You can still see it IF you know where it is but no one has noticed it without me pointing it out.

Molly

Quote from: Appowner on January 25, 2021, 04:58:05 AM
Is that an actual blister or has someones knee been rubbing against it while riding?  Looks more like the latter to me but pics can be deceiving.

I had a wrench attack my front fender some years ago.  Two different color pin stripes and two different met reds involved.  Took me two weeks but I did manage to sand it down, replace the base coat etc., build it all back up and clear coat it.  You can still see it IF you know where it is but no one has noticed it without me pointing it out.

Yes. It's a blister. About an inch across.