April 18, 2024, 08:29:49 PM

News:

M8 124 build

Started by rglide17, January 29, 2021, 09:30:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rglide17

So, I'm in the process of redoing my 124 build (S&S kit, 11:1 C.R. hpi 62mm tb) tore everything down and I'm currently waiting for my flywheel to be trued at darkhorse which will take 6 weeks. In the meantime, I've been looking at dyno sheets of all the different high lift cams. I have a feuling 521 with solid push rods waiting to be installed once I get my engine back but I'm debating on changing the setup. I've been looking at the comp cam 248. My question is, has anyone ran this cam with a similar set up? Since I'm having my flywheel trued, I figured I'd chase higher numbers but was looking for some input on which direction to go. Thanks for any help and I'm sorry if I'm in the wrong thread, it's my first time posting here.

DTTJGlide

January 30, 2021, 01:02:08 AM #1 Last Edit: January 30, 2021, 01:12:22 AM by DTTJGlide
The Comp 248 needs more than 11.1 CR to reach it's full potential, more like 12.1, I haven't seen  any tests on that cam, but the specs are very similar to the CR482. I think there's one in the dyno section with very good results, unless you're dead set on a Comp cam I'd go for the CR482, both will work at 11.1 but might be a little soft down low. I'm not good with links, just search CR-482 in the dyno section.

FLSTFIDave

January 30, 2021, 04:15:11 AM #2 Last Edit: January 30, 2021, 04:21:27 AM by FLSTFIDave
The CR-482 is very good at 12.1 to 1 compression.  I ride it all over on 93 octane.  It runs on 91 if you do not beat on it, no issues in West AR mountains on 91 on a 92 degree day.

I have a 130 build dyno sheet in that section.
2023 CVO Road Glide Whiskey Neat
2021 Pan America Special, Gray,  2003 Fatboy

Hillside Motorcycle

We use the S&S .550 quite often in our 124"s/128"s.