April 24, 2024, 04:26:09 AM

News:

HPI V2 or SE Heavy Breather compact

Started by Matty_d, February 05, 2021, 07:40:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matty_d

Looking to get a little more velocity through my SE 58mm TB. Would either of these HPI V2 or SE Heavy Breather compact Air cleaner set ups help with that? 

kd

FWIW I have no personal experience with either style breather.  I have however followed several thread discussions in the past and have only opinions based on that to offer.    Both breathers you mention use different methods that IMO can increase velocity and as well have other benefits.

The SE Heavy Breather increases the length of the intake tract considerably which in turn adds volume. The length allows time for the flow to straighten out somewhat and in turn increase speed.  The extra volume softens the adverse effects some cams depart through overlap reversing flow back into the short manifold. These characteristic have a byproduct by increasing velocity.  Some simply like the looks or extra leg room more.

The HPI V2 takes a different approach by installing a velocity stack in the backing plate. Remember that performance through intake design is their business.  :wink:  The stack gathers intake air from a wider area and therefore has more available to cram into the intake throat. The result is / can be more air and an increase in manifold velocity. This stack also has a minor lengthening of the intake effect.  This (for both styles of breather) is all providing the cam and heads can call for it and the exhaust can move it on properly. It's not so simple as just the breather.