March 28, 2024, 02:18:37 PM

News:

Open Primary

Started by WhipLash96, February 07, 2021, 07:41:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WhipLash96

I am starting a new project and for this project, I am considering using a belt drive. I have no experience with them. A friend of mine told me that they are PITA.

What are the Pro's and Con's for using an open belt drive primary?
Thanks,
Whip

motorhogman

Quote from: WhipLash96 on February 07, 2021, 07:41:04 AM
I am starting a new project and for this project, I am considering using a belt drive. I have no experience with them. A friend of mine told me that they are PITA.

What are the Pro's and Con's for using an open belt drive primary?

Ran a Karata Primary belt on my 73 Supergiide for years.  All pros from my experience.  ran a vented primary, Drilled holes in the it and ran a vented derby cover.  I can't prove it but I think the bike ran cooler.. ran quieter and smoother for sure that way.
where's the points and condenser ?<br />Tom / aka motor

Fugawee

I too had a Primary Belt on a 76' Superglide.  I believe it was a BDL.  I forget...been awhile.  That Bike is long gone.  I ran it open for some time, then just put a guard on it.  I always had a thought of catching something in it...like My leg.  Performance wise, I never had a problem.  I do think that it reduced some of the vibration, but all in all; I had no issues.  A Buddy of Mine just installed one back in the Summer, on His resto-mod 51' Panhead.  He used the original Primary Cover to cover the belt, and so far He says He likes it.  I guess it is a matter of choice, and what year, and model Bike You are thinking about putting it on.

Tacocaster

I ran a 5" BDL in my '96 96ci Stroked EVO FL.

If you like mechanical things, they're great! But alignment is critical to longevity (like anything, really). This should NOT be an issue with a Twinkie.