March 28, 2024, 02:07:00 PM

News:

Panhead Frame Question...

Started by JamLazyAss, April 30, 2021, 05:05:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamLazyAss

April 30, 2021, 05:05:24 PM Last Edit: April 30, 2021, 05:14:04 PM by JamLazyAss
I have a 52' Panhead.
Rigid straight leg frame.

How can I tell if the frame is OEM?
I'm guessing it probably isn't, but I'd like to verify it.

JamLazyAss
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

Ohio HD

I think the factory straight leg frames were 1954 to 1957.

I had a 1955 straight leg Shovel - Pan. 

kd

I think that`s 55-57.  Anything earlier in a panhead was a wishbone.  I don`t think I have seen anyone copying the rear axle castings though.  It was common to cut off the front sidcar mounts so you can't count on that but if they are there and the rear axle casting are too it may be OEM late.  If they are the same as a known OEM frame and it's a straight leg it'll be the last 3 years.  How about a pic or two.
KD

kd

Those are guys that make frames.  How about this It was a changeover year with 3 frames. It was 2 styles of wishbone and one straight leg.
KD

Breeze

The joints/lugs on old Harley frames have casting numbers. When I took my wishbone down to bare metal, I remember seeing them. I seem to remember reading that some id can be made from them, but maybe not. It was a while ago.
I'm starting to believe my body is gonna outlast my mind.

bump

The castings on harley frames are not castings but forged.

SP33DY

One other possibility is: If the seat post has been notched to clear the rear head/rocker box, it would be a Panhead in a Knucklehead frame.

drifter

Can't remember which years but somewhere I read that the top motor mount frame bracket has a date code stamped in.

Deye76