March 28, 2024, 04:45:12 AM

News:

Foolish Panhead Clutch Question...

Started by JamLazyAss, May 21, 2021, 02:22:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamLazyAss

I've decided to remove the hand shift / foot clutch off my Pan.
I've installed everything to make it a foot shifter WITH a mouse trap.
I've followed a video from UTube about the installation without success.
Just seems to be a ton of play in the clutch cable.

My question is, do I use the same number of clutch plates for the foot shift vs the hand shift?

I'm at a loss right now as to where to look next.
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

drifter

I don't see how the clutch plates will affect the cable slop.  Perhaps a couple more installation/adjustment videos from different people will give you a hint.  Tatro Machine has a video or two on mouse traps, I've seen others, can't remember who, perhaps Lowbrow Customs or Hunting Harleys. 

Fugawee

I don't claim to be a Panhead, or Mouse Trap expert.  But, My Brother and I just did a 5 year Resto-Mod on a 51' Pan with a mouse trap.  Neither of Us had dealt with one before.  Reading the HD Manual on it did nothing for Us, as far as proper adjustment.  Drove us nuts.  We found a Video on You-Tube by a Guy named "Pacific Mike".  We followed His method, and got it after a try, or two.  It now works with 2 fingers.  You may have to search for "Mouse Trap" adjustment on His You-Tube channel.  I hope that this may help You out.

JamLazyAss

I've watched videos from both of these guys.
Pacific Mike's seemed clear and straight forward.
In fact he is the one I tried to follow.
I'll give it another shot over the weekend and see what happens.

Thanks

HogMike

Quote from: JamLazyAss on May 21, 2021, 02:22:33 PM

My question is, do I use the same number of clutch plates for the foot shift vs the hand shift?