March 28, 2024, 12:59:39 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Bike Walks When Clutch Is In

Started by JamLazyAss, August 16, 2021, 11:39:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamLazyAss

As the title says, the bike moves pretty good when in gear and the clutch is squeezed.
I know there is a thing called a clutch tamer that I recall from decades ago.
What can I do today to help stop this from happening?

Thanks
JLA
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

Excalibur

Are you running a mousetrap? Stock number of plates? Stock chain primary?

JamLazyAss

No mousetrap.
Belt primary.
Stock plates.

Hossamania

Collapsing outer sheath on the cable?
If the government gives you everything you want,
it can take away everything you have.

JamLazyAss

Ohio HD

Assuming the clutch is adjusted correctly. Put a clutch tamer on it. The belt is most likely pulling the basket away from the clutch hub when the clutch is applied.

JamLazyAss

I am going to order order/buy one tomorrow if it's available.
Installation will be my next hurdle.

Excalibur

I run a Tamer and like it. Many negative comments about them but that's their opinion. Fine, each to his own.
The biggest thing that made the difference for me goes like this:
Upgrade to the Shovel number of plates. Because you have increased grip area, you can narrow the lining width as shown in pic. This "frees" significantly better. Also improves gear shifting. I can scarcely believe it's the same clutch. Lining width currently 18mm. Works for me with 74" FLH 44mm carb.
[attach=0]
More details on my blog.

Ohio HD

Good suggestion on adding another plate. Less spring pressure is needed as well.

I had never thought to reduce the clutch material at the ID. That's also a neat idea.

CraigArizona85248

August 16, 2021, 08:22:36 PM #9 Last Edit: August 17, 2021, 03:21:49 PM by CraigArizona85248