April 19, 2024, 09:30:05 PM

News:

Front Brake Light Switch

Started by crock, September 22, 2021, 01:07:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

crock

Looking for opinions. I've been replacing the front switch on my 73 flh for 20 years. Lately with more frequency(I'm guessing because the quality is decreasing ) to the point that it's about once a year now. Looking for options that isn't as  awful looking as a pressure switch at the caliper. Anybody have an idea?
Crock

bump

I put a pressure switch at the lower tree where the brake lines split to calipers.

Ohio HD

I would suggest at the lower tree as well.

Maybe it's less quality switches as time goes on, that's certainly very possible. Also the switch being at the wheel exposed to bumps from road conditions may be helping to slowly kill the switch. But that's just a possibility, and not for certain.

bump

I replaced the switch at the lever a few times but couldn't get brake light to work right. Lever would bounce around and make brake light flash when running down the road. Brake light would light when pulling lever but flash when on road.

kd

Quote from: bump on September 22, 2021, 07:03:13 AM
I replaced the switch at the lever a few times but couldn't get brake light to work right. Lever would bounce around and make brake light flash when running down the road. Brake light would light when pulling lever but flash when on road.

My suggestion would be to look at the components bump mentions like the pin and bushings or even the lever and check for wear.  I could see how worn components could cause the button to be forced sideways and the plunger being damaged and wearing out prematurely.
KD

david lee

mine hasnt worked for yrs. as long as the rear does it dosent bother me

HarleyCharley