May 03, 2024, 08:46:31 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Requesting experienced eyes on opinions- heads/cylinders

Started by hattitude, January 21, 2022, 01:40:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hattitude

It's a 2003 Heritage that I bought new in 5/2003.  It has 24K miles, and the selling dealer installed an HD 95" Big Bore kit at about 6 months old.

Ran excellent for years....

About 21K miles, I upgraded the cam chest to the '07+ cam plate, new inner cam bearings, hydraulic tensioners, new lifters, and A26 conversion cams.

It runs really well, but it still has a loud ticking noise, when warmed up, at about 2500 rpms. I have been chasing it for 2 years now, and have done all the recommended "fixes". It's still there...

Being retired, wrenching on my bikes is both fun and my hobbie....

I decided to do a valve job on the Heritage for two reasons:

1) I had never done one before and wanted to pull the heads.

2) I was hoping to see/find something that may be the cause of the ticking noise.

I have torn down the engine, and will shortly contact HD Street Performance about shipping my heads to them for their basic "Blueprint" head porting.

I had planned to leave the jugs on the cases, do the headwork, then reassemble the engine.

As I inspected the engine with the heads off, I saw a couple things that may be normal, or may not... I just don't have the experience to judge..

So if you would, please take a look at these pics of the heads, and the cylinders. Let me know if you see anything that is a red flag, or that would cause you to remove the cylinders and/or pistons for some additional work while it's apart...

Thanks for your assistance...

kd