April 16, 2024, 12:06:46 PM

News:

A shifty problem

Started by SmokyOwl, January 26, 2022, 01:03:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SmokyOwl

On my 2006 Fatboy I'm having an occasional issue where when downshifting I sometimes shift into nothing.  Shifting from 5th to 4th, or 4th into 3rd, I shift and it's suddenly in neutral- then cannot go back into any gear until I come to a complete stop, which isn't that big of an issue because I'm downshifting to a stop anyways.  It's like everything lines up in the transmission perfectly so nothing functions.  I wonder if a shifting fork is bent?  It wouldn't surprise me at all since day 1 I had the SE 6-speed installed going from 5th to 6th has always been a bit dodgy with a often two-step feel to engagement.
"Attack life.  It's going to kill you anyways." - Steve McQueen

smoserx1

I am no transmission expert at all but just looking at the diagram of the shifter mechanism I am wondering if you have excessive wear on the cams on  the end of the shifter drum or perhaps the cam follower (or both).  I mean as you shift the drum has to move the forks enough to engage one gear set  and disengage the other.  If it does not rotate that drum enough downshifting it looks like you could end up with the higher gear disengaging but the lower target gear not making it to engagement.  Anyway, just a  thought.  I guess bent or worn forks could cause it too.

JW113

Hold on a sec. You say that when this happens, say shifting from 5th to 4th, it goes into a "false neutral", and continuing to tap on the shifter lever, it won't go into any gear until you stop, and then it will?

The pre-2002 five speeds were notorious for finding false neutrals, esp during hard up-shifts. But they would always recover by banging the shift lever again. I have no idea what goes on with those SE 6 speeds, and what you are describing sounds bizarre. First thought in my noggin is something is going wacky with this:

You cannot see attachments on this board.