March 29, 2024, 02:26:04 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Fuel Pak 3

Started by tomz240, February 20, 2022, 06:09:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tomz240

I purchased a 2016 SGS. The previous owner had installed the FP3. I am putting Andrews 48H cams in. I read the instructions for the FP3 and have a pretty good idea of the functionality. But I'm not very tech savvy and have no idea what parameters to enter. My question is, should I just do the auto tune feature?

FXDBI

If you want it to run right with a cam change dump the FP3 and buy a real tuner. FP3 is at its limit with a air cleaner and pipe.  Bob

tomz240

Quote from: FXDBI on February 20, 2022, 07:52:56 PMIf you want it to run right with a cam change dump the FP3 and buy a real tuner. FP3 is at its limit with a air cleaner and pipe.  Bob

What tuner do you recommend?

Ohio HD

The FP3 has cam selections so you can select Andrews 48 and then try to auto tune. It all depends on how much you wish to get from the cam change as to trying to tune the motor yourself or have it professionally tuned.

Most professional tuning shops will want to use a different tuner, maybe TTS or Power Vision. You can add about $400 to $500 for most professionals to tune your bike. An advantage to Power Vision is you only need buy a license, not the complete tuner if tuned by a professional shop.

The difference between a "canned" map and professional tuning is shown in the link below. These are Andrews 48's in one of my bikes. The professional tune pulled about 10 HP and TRQ, and increased power all along the RPM range.

Andrews 48's tuned with Power Vision 

tomz240

February 21, 2022, 07:40:52 AM #4 Last Edit: February 21, 2022, 07:43:57 AM by Ohio HD