tappets - hydraulic or solids, and rocker box oiling

Started by dbdevkc, March 19, 2022, 07:16:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dbdevkc

First - I am a newb to this stuff. I put the bike away 18+ years ago when at the time I thought the lifters were collapsing and it was running terrible. Plan was to tear into it, and things got in the way. Now I'm into it and I realize I don't even know what I have... stupid newb question - is this a hydraulic or a solid? I mean are solids 100% solid/one piece. With these there doesn't seem to be much room for movement.

Second, the more I read about better hydraulics for the shovel, the more confused I get about options - evo tappets, evo style oiling through pushrods and evo style roller rockers, and evo cams, etc...

I just really want something more reliable (and maybe a bit of a performance bump). But I found that it has and old Andrews A cam - and that might be fine.

Head=spinning...:nix:
You cannot see attachments on this board.
KC

JW113

Interesting. That looks to be a 'Evo' type tappet, no idea who's. My Jim's look fairly similar. So you say this bike had been sitting for 18 years? I'm going to make a wild and uneducated guess, and say they might be Velva-Touch?

-JW
2004 FLHRS   1977 FLH Shovelhead  1992 FLSTC
1945 Indian Chief   1978 XL Bobber

dbdevkc

March 19, 2022, 08:03:08 PM #2 Last Edit: March 19, 2022, 08:25:20 PM by dbdevkc Reason: adding more info
Whoa. I just looked for and found some close up photos of the velva touch lifters and rods - they do look exactly like what I have, right down to that snap ring. Not 100% sure, but I can contact them share photos and ask.

If they are indeed VT's, two good things from their website:
"REBUILDING SERVICES ARE AVAILABLE FOR ALL PREVIOUSLY MANUFACTURED VELVA TOUCH PRODUCTS"
"If you would like to change the oiling option at a later date you would only need to purchase a 65.00 kit that includes new lower cups,snap rings,pushrod adjusters and nuts."