April 19, 2024, 04:13:37 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

1980 IronHead

Started by Mikeywiththe, September 04, 2022, 11:17:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mikeywiththe

I'd appreciate it if anybody could help with some info or tips greatly appreciate it. Well about 3  weeks ago I picked up a 1980 1000cc Sportster I'm very new to older harley's this is my first Harley aswell I'm 17 and just started digging into this "Potty mouth" show the previous owner left me and when I picked it up and bought it it ran but didnt move which I expected bc the guy told me he smoked the clutch but got it back to my house and replaced oil lines put on aftermarket oil tank and chopped frame didnt mess with clutch yet at all just basically beauty stuff cleaning it up and replacing oil lines but I started it yesterday me and my dad listening to it sounds good not bad no knocks pings or rings but I flipped the switch off on the handlebars when we were done but I forgot to turn the key off lol really stupid move i know but went to the grocery store while the key still being on me not knowing an I come back I notice my damn key is in its on position and I charge the battery hoping it'd fire back up but surely not so I did some research and went to autozone got a condenser because some people said it could be fried and sometimes that happens with these ironheads but I replace the dam condenser and still nothing the bike just cranks with no spark it sounds like I know its not my plugs there brand new just got em and well I think possibly fried my coil pack to I think so. So I ordered a coil pack and about to be here in a day but any tips guys I would really appreciate it I'm very new to harleys like I said. just ah 17 yr old  kid tryna get his 42 yr old bike running thanks guys.

JW113

First: Congrats, I too had a 1980 XL.