April 18, 2024, 04:06:55 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Question about Barnett Clutch Stack (307-30-10011)

Started by les, September 19, 2022, 09:29:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

les

I've done very little Sporster work, and this is my first time replacing a Sportster clutch stack.  The bike is a 2016 Sporster Custom and I'd like to replace the current stock stack with the Barnett Extra Clutch Plate Kevlar Kit (307-30-10011). 

I can't tell if this 9 friction plate kit comes with the thin inner ring and the thin inner dished ring, or if these thin rings are even needed with the Barnett kit I'm buying.  Is this Barnett kit have all 9 friction plates full width rather than the inner most one being thinner with a larger ID?

Any tips are welcome for this first-timer.  Thanks.

rigidthumper

My kit (2004 1200 XL- this was years ago, so forgive my weak memory) said don't have anything in the basket when installing- remove all stock pieces, including the spring plate, inner ring, & beveled ring.
Ignorance is bliss, and accuracy expensive. How much of either can you afford?

les

Thanks.  Seems just the same as big twins.  I appreciate the reply.

14Frisco

QuoteI can't tell if this 9 friction plate kit comes with the thin inner ring and the thin inner dished ring

15 years ago I bought that kit, 307-30-10011, for my 1993 Sportster. It didn't come with the damper seat or damper dished spring. After installation, I had some occasional clutch chatter and after contacting Barnett they sent me the damper spring kit, and that took care of it.
A year later, I bought the same kit, 307-30-10011, for my Road King and then the kit came with the damper spring and seat.

les

Quote from: 14Frisco on September 19, 2022, 12:38:25 PM
QuoteI can't tell if this 9 friction plate kit comes with the thin inner ring and the thin inner dished ring