May 02, 2024, 03:25:29 AM

News:

03 TCA front outer cam brg

Started by xlfan, May 11, 2023, 08:56:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

motorhogman

I'm no expert, but I sure wouldn't use that cam plate. That would weigh on my brain for ever.
where's the points and condenser ?<br />Tom / aka motor

-deuced-

May 27, 2023, 05:03:58 PM #26 Last Edit: May 27, 2023, 05:08:48 PM by -deuced-
Bearing outer race removal technique,  :up:

I can kind of see the temptation to re-use the camplate but I'd replace it. The lip in the bearing bore is for setting of the bearing depth. As long as most of it is there and there are no high spots on the bore side and you can guarantee no bits of lip will break off and you're sure the bore is not distorted it might work. I can only see a glimpse but there is visible wear from the oil pump although that's to be expected regardless of cam bearing condition. The replacement camplate doesn't have to be new. Anything with less than 50k miles is probably going to be in better condition. Cams in previous pics look stock so I'm guessing engine is stock. If you post in the Wanted section you might even get a stock camplate with a matching oil pump.

Have you recovered the rest of the bearing?

xlfan

Not found the remaining 2 balls, going to pull oil tank (Dyna), hoping they have been ground so small that they have passed the scavenge gerotors.

rigidthumper

Think about all the tiny pieces of metal sitting in the crevices of the oil passages...
And then remember to remove & clean the oil bag, after you find a different cam plate :)
Ignorance is bliss, and accuracy expensive. How much of either can you afford?

kouack

Quote from: xlfan on May 28, 2023, 12:58:51 AMNot found the remaining 2 balls, going to pull oil tank (Dyna), hoping they have been ground so small that they have passed the scavenge gerotors.