Permatex Aviation Gasket Dressing on Rubber Coated Rocker Gasket?

Started by coolingfin, December 03, 2008, 07:32:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

coolingfin

I've noticed a lot of you use Permatex Aviation Form-a-Gasket Dressing.   I was intending to use it on my new lower rocker box gaskets (Harley brand) until I saw they were not like the paper gaskets I removed, but instead appear to be rubber coated metal.  Should I put those in dry?

jimrookie

I always put that type togeather dry..lets see what the best say

86fxwg

You will probobly get alot of opinons on this but i install them dry.Any sealer on rubber theres a better chance for a leak. Im a Auto tech and the only place on a car we use sealer with a rubber gasket is a Corner joint (oil pan,to timing cover to block joint.)
Felpro wants there rubber gaskets installed dry.

Dave
86fxwg 06flhx 10flhx

jvcazcm

Most won't agree with me on this however, I have never used the new gaskets that I received in the kit.  I know it is just lazy, never have had one of the new gaskets leak.  I am convinced they just don't leak I have never seen one leak.  Now let me say when I work on other peoples bikes I absoultly replace them becuase they were paid for.  I also replace the cylinder o-rings and that green one at the bottom of the cylinder.  I also replace all of the O-rings in the cam chest.  I do not ever replace the cam cover gasket or the primary gasket those things just don't leak I have never seen one leat.  I would always recommend to other people to always replace the gaskets since they are in the kit.  Do I personaly replace all of the gaskets? NOPE not even the push rod O rings.  Again I have never had a leak in the twin cam motor.

jvc

d-dog