May 09, 2024, 12:53:21 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

cams?

Started by robgogo, December 23, 2008, 07:46:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

robgogo

Hello newbie here. long time reader  first time poster HELP please point in the right direction 01 rk stage one.(big-sucker,ful-sac,wild pigs,pcIII)stock compression have read here that cams need to match compression just looking for bolt-ins for my chain drive 50,000mi need to replace tensioners so thought I would put in cams.Have thought of TW6`s but don`t know with stock comp any suggestions would be apprecaited. ride solo allaround highway & town. Thanks all you learned gurus in advance.

Bakon

Not pushing andrews, just the advise.
http://www.andrewsproducts.com/motorcycle/cams/choosing_a_cam.htm

01 bolt in max lift is .510 so stay in there.
S&S 510 is one, likes to kick in at 2800 rpm but pulls to the rev limit. Below 2800 you will feel no difference over stock. Alot of SE 203 guys are happy.

If you normally ride below 3k then you really want an intake close earlier than 38.

Lots of bolt ins for an 88 will weaken the bottom where 90 percent of your riding probably is.
wasting time

mayor

congrats on breaking the first post barrier!   :teeth:

....not much more to add on what SHO and '05 posted.  The only other note is your stock cams intake close is 34 degree's (assuming that the PC3 is for an EFI  :wink:).  Any cam with a latter intake close will potentially take away a little bottom end torque, and any cam with an earlier intake close will potentially increase it if stock compression is maintained.
warning, this poster suffers from bizarre delusions

flht99b