May 03, 2024, 10:34:58 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Whirlpool Gas hotwater heater

Started by the Grump, January 16, 2009, 08:00:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

the Grump

I'm trying to fix this thing for a friend who's out of town. The wife and kids haven't had hot water for days. So I go to Lowes and this guy tells me they've had trouble with the thermocouplers and that there was a kit to fix it for free. Made sense to me, that's the problem the pilot light wont stay lit. You cant keep the pilot lit to turn on the burner. So they overnight it, I put it in and CRAP.. the same thing. Does anyone have any ideas on this. I'd really appreciate it.

03rdkng

I am an electrician and not a plumber and it has been a while since I messed with a gas waterheater but shouldn't you be able to get some gas flow to the burner regardless of whether you can keep it lit.  I guess I am suggesting that their may be something wrong with the gas regulator on the waterheater.  I have seen that before.

the Grump

They have been sent a bunch of new stuff that they had to pay shipping. I found out about this kit which is supposed to be an improvement on the model. It it the tube that carries the gas to the burner, the pilot light and thermocoupler. So now everything is new and the friggin thing still will not light. The pilot light will come on but as soon as you release the button(reset) it goes out. You cannot turn the control to "ON" with the gas button(reset)depressed. I am not used to failing when it comes to fixing things and this is really pissin' me off.

03rdkng

Grump.
I don't want to lead you down the wrong road but you are describing the exact problem I had with a gas central heat unit in my home.
The gas regulator valves function basically the same in both systems.
You indicate that you are not sure it was the thermocouple.