May 09, 2024, 01:22:41 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Very Interesting, and then a resurrection, The End

Started by War Horse, February 03, 2012, 06:19:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

War Horse

One of the sites we hit said that the Delkron case wouldnt fit the 77 FX frame ??? I've never used them before , is this because of the trap door?
A clear conscience is the sign of a fuzzy memory

War Horse

I guess we're going with the S&S cases, ordering from Chromeaddiction.com, they had the best price. Also going for the Kibblewhitte SS one piece nitrated valves, gonna wait to get the cases and see what all the fuss is about with the oil pump.

shovelbill

i went with the Ultima stock bore shovel cases.......because cost was a factor for me..........less than $700 to my indy.......as good or better than anything out there imo, made in USA too......takes '81+ oil pump out the box, or easily modified for earlier pump.......i just ain't that keen on the way the front motor mount looks.....has drain plug in bottom......next time i'll get STD because they look "stock".

build it, bust it.....figure out why

billbuilds

February 16, 2012, 07:23:04 AM #53 Last Edit: February 16, 2012, 07:31:53 AM by billbuilds
Quote from: War Horse on February 16, 2012, 04:15:56 AM
One of the sites we hit said that the Delkron case wouldnt fit the 77 FX frame ??? I've never used them before , is this because of the trap door?

I've never used Delkron cases either but the part about them not fitting in 77 FX frames doesn't sound right at all. What's so special about that particular year/model 4-speed swingarm frame?

Shovelbill, Those Ultima cases sure do look nice although I see what you mean about the front motor mounts. They do look super rugged plus won't your voltage regulator and mounting bracket block most of that area from view anyhow?    Bill