May 09, 2024, 01:26:08 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Oil

Started by Hooda, August 21, 2013, 09:52:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hooda

I have hopped up 1988 sporty. I change the oil often. Always run Harley 20-50. Pricey oil,dealer always says Harley oil. But Harley doesn't make it's own oil. It's made by an outfit called Sunoco or something like that. Any recommendations on another oil. Thinking of maybe Mobil one 20-50. Also everyone says not to run synthetic oil in the older motors. Is that true? Thanks

14Frisco

I have been running my 93 Sporty with Mobil 1 15-50 for years - I buy it at Autozone when on sale.

andyxlh

I'm not a petrochemical engineer, but why would it not be a good idea to run synthetic in any engine? It seems that the advantages like less breakdown when hot and less friction would be a no brainier. I use syn3 which is a lot easier to get here than mobil1 vtwin, but I'd go with the Mobil product if u can get it. Both are pricey, but I think good oil and regular changes are money well spent. It's one of those things which I don't know a lot about so I go with the expert reports and opinions I have read which seem to universally praise synthetic lubes. I'm happy to spend the extra cash in this area and scrimp elsewhere.....
If you can't fix it with a hammer and a roll of Duck tape then you're in trouble

Panzer

Before I switched oil brands for my sporty, I checked here (on HTT) the different bike categories like....EVO, Twin Cam, V-Rod's.
About 70% of those bike owners are running Mobile 1, both 20W50 and 15W50 of which I'm running the latter the past four years.
Walmart seems to carry the 15W50 in the winter months only, here on the east coast.
I buy the five quart jugs when available , comes out to be $5.40 a quart.......not pricey at all.

Hope our feeds are of help.