May 08, 2024, 02:48:53 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Set up for 2000 Sportster with 1250 engine upgrade kit

Started by IslandSporster00, June 02, 2014, 04:17:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

IslandSporster00

I've got a 2000 Sportster with 6,000 miles on it that I got for $2400 and I'm looking to put some serious work into it. Before I start, I want to make sure that the components I'm planning on getting are all going to be worth it/work together. I'm pretty new to this so any opinions or educated help would be greatly appreciated. I'd like my bike to maintain its maneuverability but also have the best torque and highest hp as possible. Basically, I want to be able to leave the line in a hurry and get to my higher speeds quickly. The area I live in lacks long and open roads so what I'm looking for is the ability to go in and out of traffic quickly and rip off of the line as fast as possible. I've done a fair amount of research into different set ups and because money is not an issue, I want to have a definitive set up lined up before I start making my purchases. This is the set up that I've got planned so far, any input would be greatly appreciated: NRHS Stage 3 1250cc kit, forcewinder XR2 Intake System, Mikuni HSR45 Carburetor, Screaming Eagle .536 Camshafts, Dyna 20000i Injection Module, Bassani Ceramic 2-1 Road Rage Megaphone Muffler Exhaust, Energy One Clutch, NRHS Variable Pressure Clutch System, Hurricane Springs/Retainers, Hurricane Pushrods, NRHS Collapsible Pushrod Covers, S&S Roller Rocker Arms, Powerglide Tapp, NRHS Hurricane Valves, Hurricane Valve Guides/Seals/Seats, EarthX Lithium Battery, Hurricane Oil Filter, Roland Sands Design Contrast Cut Diesel Wheels, Metzeler Marathon Tires, Progressive Suspension Drop in Front Lowering System, Progressive Suspension 412 Rear Shocks. I know that specific sizes for my springs, retainers, pushrods, rocke