May 02, 2024, 12:48:19 AM

News:

Pulling Left

Started by Burch, April 02, 2009, 05:38:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Burch

'01 Road King, and she pulls to teh left.

Started late last season after I had a rear tire replaced (flat tire). Brought it back to the shop who replaced the tire, they did some adjustments, but it still pulls left.

Now that "spring" has sort of sprung here in Michigan...I plan to take it back again.

I'd still like to get some ideas of what can cause this.

If it makes a difference:

- Bags are empty
- Running HD's lowered touring shocks
- Spoked wheels

Thanks for any advise. It is pretty annoying!

Burch
Burch

JamLazyAss

IMO, most bikes do have a tendency to pull left when you let go of the handlebars.
Want to keep it straight, switch to a right side final drive.
That's my two cents for what it's worth.
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

truck

the crown of the road might be causing the pull to the left.
Listen to the jingle the rumble and the roar.

HroadhogD1

Could you have loose spokes?  Did you line the tire up to run straight?

HroadhogD1

Maybe a defective tire?  What brand of tire is it?

minnesota co

I  always thought that Harleys pulled left because of the natural force of the motor\drivetrain. Isn't that the draw of the "right side drive" ??

Minnesota co

HroadhogD1

Just how hard is it pulling to the left?  Just a gradual pull, or a hard pull?

Burch

The spokes have been checked..none loose. Rims have been "trued"

Pulls hard enough to bring the bike up the crown of the road when I let the bars loose.

I have 40K miles on the bike, and never had this problem before.

I'll add this...I had a rear flat last year. Had a new tire put on and ever since then, it seems to pull. Replaced the tire that was flat with a new one. The shop that did the work admitted something was out of align, and they said they "fixed" it. The tech said it still pulled "slightly"....I say more that that!