May 09, 2024, 12:21:44 AM

News:

Transmissions... What's the Attraction?

Started by JamLazyAss, October 21, 2015, 04:46:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamLazyAss

Three speeds, Four speeds, Five speeds, Six speeds.

What is the real attraction about having to shift so many gears?
I'm not knocking them, they're just not for me.

Buster has a good ol' Four Speed.
I've been thinking about tossing in a Three speed with reverse.
Did that many years ago and loved it.
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

pumpguy68

Does Buster run down the interstate at 85mph with his 4speed shovel?

I like my 6 speed because I can run pretty much any speed without lugging or over revving my motor ( but that's just me to each his own)

Ray m
If it has tits or gears it will give you problems at some point!!

wholehog

like he says......it keeps the engine running at the sweet spot to match your road speed...that's the reason you're seeing 8 and 10 speed automagic trannys therse days in cars and trucks

ThumperDeuce

If you've got the torque, I don't see the need for all the gears.  I run a Jim's Fat5 Overdrive.  3 shifts to get to 1:1 and then 1 more gets you into overdrive.  I like it.
Idiots are fun, no wonder every village wants one.

Brrrap

I've heard it said that the 5 and 6 speed trannys were never a design gift to the buying public. "They didn't design that for you and me, They were created to lower emission gases exhausted by lowering Highway RPM's", and also, the stock motors at the time of offering were anemic for "get up and go" on the upper gears. (Just a hear-say consideration guys, on this subject)   
82nd ABN INF B.Co.1st 508th '78-81<br />1923rd Comm Group, ATC, Kelly AFB '82-86

calif phil

If I could afford it I would have a Baker 7 speed in my bike.   You have to ride one to appreciate it. 

BUBBIE

Hell, I love to shift and Feel that Sweet Spot in action... Nothing Better keeping the RPM up and the FEEL of it...