May 09, 2024, 03:18:43 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

full throttle woes, help with engine cutting in and out.

Started by N-gin, June 16, 2017, 09:19:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rigidthumper

Is there enough clamp load to keep the fasteners in place? Maybe AN washers under the flange to keep spacing and clamp load?
Ignorance is bliss, and accuracy expensive. How much of either can you afford?

feathers

my thought could you have a valve sticking? I'm not a mechanic but i have a keyboard

Admiral Akbar

The problem you are having with the manifold seals is that you are using the wrong size.  Ultima uses a 1.8" port and the OD of the spigot is likely 1.90 to 1.92".. (stock is 1.80 to 1.82) This requires a thinner seal. The fact that you cinched the manifold clamps down might have crushed the ends.  The Ultima flanges I have are the same size as stock HD.

The manifold leak is not causing your high speed miss. If it did anything it would kill throttle response off idle maybe cause a cough and rough idle. Don't know what it is tho. Could be anything. Carb or ignition. I'll let the experts here figure that out.

N-gin

Well here is an update..
I checked, double checked and triple checked the intake seals. They are good now. However still with the cutout. The decal pop has gotten better though with the sealing of the intake seals. Progress....

Quote from: Admiral Akbar on June 22, 2017, 10:21:27 PM
The problem you are having with the manifold seals is that you are using the wrong size.  Ultima uses a 1.8" port and the OD of the spigot is likely 1.90 to 1.92".. (stock is 1.80 to 1.82) This requires a thinner seal. The fact that you cinched the manifold clamps down might have crushed the ends.  The Ultima flanges I have are the same size as stock HD.