March 28, 2024, 07:29:31 AM

News:

Engine vibration issues

Started by motorhead_smf, April 08, 2019, 05:30:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

motorhead_smf

I just got done putting a 113 s&s motor in a 92 fxr.  While in there I replaced the front motor mount with the gooden-tite mount.  From 2500-3000 rpm this thing shakes pretty violently.  Doesn't transfer to the bars very bad but really bad on the frame.  It actually loosened my oil filter.  At idle and above 3000 it's great but when it decels to 3000 especially its bad.  I'm new to rubbermounts and have spent a lot of time searching this topic to see what I'm dealing with.  Will this get better with time?  Is it totally the mount I picked?  Has anyone used this mount with similar problems.  2500-3000 is a hard rpm to avoid.

Deye76

Check the stabilizer link from the frame to the top motor mount is in the right position. Also if the links are old, replace them.
East Tenn.<br /> 2020 Lowrider S Touring, 2014 CVO RK,  1992 FXRP

motorhead_smf

Quote from: Deye76 on April 09, 2019, 05:52:18 AM
Check the stabilizer link from the frame to the top motor mount is in the right position. Also if the links are old, replace them.

Why would the links being old matter.  Worn or compromised maybe but it's a 92, they are old for sure.

capn

Did you try running it with mount loose before tightening?That main bolt on the motor mount should slide in and out with no bind.

JC 92FXRS

What exhaust do you have on it? I have a  more-or-less stock exhaust on my FXR and if it's not installed just so, it will cause crazy vibration.
Jeff
"never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by incompetence"

motorhead_smf

Quote from: JC 92FXRS on April 09, 2019, 10:11:54 AM
What exhaust do you have on it? I have a  more-or-less stock exhaust on my FXR and if it's not installed just so, it will cause crazy vibration.
Jeff