March 28, 2024, 01:49:34 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Bone head mistake

Started by jrgreene1968, March 31, 2019, 04:33:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jrgreene1968

Yesterday I pulled my camchest apart, mainly to check crank runout for gear drive cams.. which it has more than I want. Anyway, while I was in there, I replaced inner cam chain and inner hydraulic tensioner. Buttoned it all back up, except the exhaust, and quit for the day.. recently had back surgery and my back was throwing fits. So.. last night I'm laying in bed and all of a sudden I thought..damn..did I torque the screws on that inner chain tensioner.
So today, I pulled it all back apart, because there wasn't no way I could ride it wandering about those 2 damn screws. Got it apart only to find they was torqued. I've been spinning wrenches for a living for 34 years, But you wouldn't have known it this morning  :banghead:

sfmichael

Colorado Springs, CO.

Hossamania

If the government gives you everything you want,
it can take away everything you have.

Langwilliams

I just did a cam change last week an I have the same questions running though my mind....only I'm wondering if the tq wrench was set right. I always set the tq wrench right in the middle an give it a little extra snug...it didn't break an it's torqued  with blue lock tight so I shouldn't worry but I do anyway.

I did a dumb thing though...I installed a cam bearing with the letters facing the wrong way an had to drive an hr each way to get a koyo bearing from someone that stocked them.

92flhtcu

Wish I had a dollar for every time I had to go back in something after I had a thought like that, and, yeah, it is usually middle of the night time thought at that!
It happens, I'll probably do it again..
Need a bigger garage

koko3052

Quote from: Langwilliams on March 31, 2019, 05:01:12 PM