April 19, 2024, 12:01:54 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

what oil do you used in the primary and tranny

Started by Ratman1640, September 08, 2016, 05:24:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ratman1640

this is an 82 iron head and im new to the old bikes . I was wondering what oil to use in the primary/tranny. thanks Rat
where every you go..... there you are.......

JW113

Good question. I have used:

HD "Sport-trans" which they don't make anymore.
Type F Automatic transmission fluid.
Revtech sportster pri/trans oil.
HD "Formula+" which is their new pri/trans oil.
20W-50 motor oil (which the service manual says to use).

Frankly, I don't find much difference in any of it. Probably will stick with the 20W-50 since it's the best value.

-JW
2004 FLHRS   1977 FLH Shovelhead  1992 FLSTC
1945 Indian Chief   1978 XL Bobber

rider7816

:pop: :pop: :pop: :pop: :pop: :pop:

I have been using straight sae60 in the engine and transmission/clutch, but Im thinking of using 20w50 next time in the transmission as it takes a while for the straight 60 to warm up. 

Im down here in south Florida, so I need all the cooling help I can get for this old bitch.

:missed:

garyajaz

I ran 50 wt.
BUT
when I switched to belt primary I went through a belt a year.
the belt people figured out the (back then) material in belt was being delaminated by the detergents in the oil.
I switched to non- detergent.
only could get 40 wt.
been using it bout 30 years.
belts last 10-15 years.

would not use atf or really light oil cause of the gears.
if had my choice and sealed off holes from tranny to primary  would run red line in tranny and mtl in primary.

JW113