March 28, 2024, 06:46:34 AM

News:

Asking the experts who know.

Started by ridealive1911, September 03, 2018, 04:03:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ridealive1911

I just sent a friend to a new tuner since the one I usually use is booked up for 3 weeks. I am not a tuning expert by any means, so if I' m way off base just say so. The bike is a 2014 RK with a 110, a  2-1 Fuel Moto Road and Track using Power Vision. I watched the tuner take his samples for the sensor in the muffler. I thought to tune each cylinder individually you had to tap into the head pipe for each cylinder. My friend saved and saved for this upgrade and just want to make sure the new tuner guy is doing an accurate tune.
98, 48N , Hell Fire heads , Big Sucker, Jack Pot Super Duals, S&S Grand Nationals

Coyote

Depends. Some use a long tube and stick it up the muffler and either up or down into the front or rear head pipe to sample each cylinder. IMO, it's not as good as using sampling blocks though.

ridealive1911

Thanks for the reply, now it makes me wonder how does he know if he's getting the sensor in the correct cylinder head pipe to tune each one separately?
98, 48N , Hell Fire heads , Big Sucker, Jack Pot Super Duals, S&S Grand Nationals

Jamie Long

Quote from: ridealive1911 on September 03, 2018, 04:03:49 PM
I just sent a friend to a new tuner since the one I usually use is booked up for 3 weeks. I am not a tuning expert by any means, so if I' m way off base just say so. The bike is a 2014 RK with a 110, a  2-1 Fuel Moto Road and Track using Power Vision. I watched the tuner take his samples for the sensor in the muffler. I thought to tune each cylinder individually you had to tap into the head pipe for each cylinder. My friend saved and saved for this upgrade and just want to make sure the new tuner guy is doing an accurate tune.

Definitely want to use the bungs that we install in the exhaust, you can mount the wideband O2 sensors directly in the pipe.

Durwood