April 25, 2024, 06:51:33 AM

News:

Never Know What You Buy

Started by 1997 fxstc, June 08, 2019, 01:32:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

1997 fxstc

So I picked my wife up a beautiful 93 Heritage; It has 21000 miles.  It sat for a couple years so I had to rebuild the carb, change the fluids and plugs.  I put a new set of front pads on it; pain in the ass.  It took most 3 hours to get the master cylinder primed and brakes bleed; have no idea why, felt like a dumbass.  Today I was going through a box of OEM stuff and find out thing has a Sifton 140 cam, Crane Single Fire Performance Coil and HI-4E Ignition which I have NO experience. Anyone have any experience with the Sifton 140 as well as the Crane products and why the hell did was is such a pain to prime and bleed those brakes.   

JW113

How exactly were you bleeding the brakes?

Sifton 140, no experience but a quick look at the timing specs indicates that unless the guy also raised the compression a couple points, you probably are not going to like that cam too much.

Crane Hi-4, pretty much like any other box swap ignition module. What exactly do you want to know about it?

-JW
2004 FLHRS   1977 FLH Shovelhead  1992 FLSTC
1945 Indian Chief   1978 XL Bobber

capn

I bought a 76 shovel that has a crane hi 4. At first I didnt trust it but I gotta admit it seems to work well.If you dont care for it an Ultima adjustable is also a good choice. Got one on a high performance evo and its been bullet proof with a USA made coil.

Hossamania

How does the bike run with that cam?
As far as the ignition goes, run it until it breaks.
Bleeding brakes, usually works fine, sometimes they fight you. If the handle seems soft, tie it down overnight.
If the government gives you everything you want,
it can take everything you have.

Dan89flstc

If you are having problems bleeding the brake system on this bike, it may not be that you are doing anything wrong, the problem may be the master cylinder.