May 08, 2024, 01:29:07 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Howdy from Austin, TX!

Started by feelthaflo, July 16, 2018, 04:44:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

feelthaflo

Hi folks, just wanted to drop in and introduce myself.  I just started riding last year and got my first bike, a 2017 FXDB Dyna Street Bob.  Of course I had no idea I had wound up with the fabled "last year of the Dyna", but it's a great bike, and has been getting better and better with some select modifications.

Off the floor, the Street Bob was all stock except for some distressed leather HD bags and the required tail light/turn signal relocation kits.  I had them add an engine guard for the inevitable parking lot drop (came in handy once so far).  Within 2 weeks, it was obvious that new grips and seat were needed for rides over about 20 minutes, and of course the wife wanted to ride along so I had to add passenger pegs along with a 2-up seat.  The seat put me further forward so I then installed the "further forward" mid controls to compensate, along with some more comfortable pegs.

Along the way I did try the HD detachable windshield but quickly returned that.  It caused severe head buffeting (even though it was the large size), and just didn't feel safe.