April 26, 2024, 12:05:18 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

Bronze vs Billet Steel Shift Forks

Started by turboprop, February 05, 2020, 06:07:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

turboprop

Would rather keep this focused specifically on the different materials and not get hung up on model years, etc.

What are the pros and cons to bronze or billet steel shift forks?
'We' like this' - Said by the one man operation.

kd

I have no experience testing between the two but from a metallurgy point of view I would expect the steel ones to be less prone to bending and holding that shape than brass if abused.  More resilience or spring back so to speak.  I would also think the collets that fasten them are less likely to wear under the fastener and become loose.
KD

rbabos

Find it hard to believe it's a full bronze fork. Too soft and would bend easy.  V rod for example is steel but bronze plated to act as a bearing face.
Ron

kd

KD

turboprop

Quote from: rbabos on February 06, 2020, 06:01:24 AM
Find it hard to believe it's a full bronze fork. Too soft and would bend easy.  V rod for example is steel but bronze plated to act as a bearing face.
Ron

Baker used to offer solid bronze forks for the BT five speed. They have since shifted their offering to only billet steel forks, but the bronze stuff is still around. I think there are a couple of sets on eBay right now. I have a set in one of my FXRs and they appear to be either solid bronze or the plating is really thick.  Time to replace them and I am at a decision point, either another set of bronze forks (I have a couple sets) or a set of their newer billet steel forks. Not a lot of information online that discusses the pros and cons of steel vs billet.

JW113

Steel is stronger than bronze, but how strong does a shift fork have to be?