April 27, 2024, 08:42:30 AM

News:

ELECTRICAL - 2006 1200 CUSTOM

Started by Jake366, November 12, 2008, 12:44:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jake366

Here's the story.  I brain farted and left my Sporty on after I turned the motor off and it completely drained my battery.  DUH!  Anyway, I jumped it from a running SUV and got it to where I needed it to go.  It ran fine for a while then I noticed that my speedo light stayed on after i turned my bike completely off and removed the key.  I trickle charged the bike for a couple of days and it still did the same thing.  I've ridden it a couple times lately, but now the speedo doesn't even work at all.

I've talked to a couple folks here at work and they suggest one of two things if not both.  1) I blew out the stator/charging system.  2)  Bad battery.

I'm not good with electrical at all so any advice would be helpful.  I'd like to fix it myself if I can so I don't have to take it to the stealership.  Thanks.

andyxlh

Hmm - sounds like you might have more than one issue here.