May 03, 2024, 11:48:26 PM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

tts pinging and timing

Started by jpbo, August 10, 2009, 06:41:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jpbo

GOOD DAY
i have done the tuning according to the v-tune guide , but i cannot remove some pinging in the front cylinder at 2500 to 2750 rpm and 70 to 80 kpa. It appears under light acceleration when running in 5 or 6 gears,till now i have removed as much as 7 degrees . I don't have anymore pinging anywhere, cruising or wot ,in the front or rear cylinder . In  this map and rpm region i have removed 3 degrees  for the rear , i tried to increase the acceleration table,no change,
according to some posts removing 7 degrees seems to be too much .What's the problem with the front?
What should i do next?
it's a road king 08 ,103 stage II, 255 cams

thanks to all ???

Blackbaggr

I am no expert but rather than retarding the timing try increasing fuel in that range only. Also try to run the highest octane available in your area if you aren't already. If you add fuel instead of retarding the timing you might be able to decrease heat as well...

Also...be sure you are using the correct map to start with for your year and build. In addition to using the correct map make sure you are using the latest TTS release ....

Herko

Little more info first.

Noting the ping by ear only or are you doing data logging as well?

What RPM and TPS?
One spot only or multiple places?
Did you get good green data in these spots?

Sounds like addl fuel is needed too.
Considering a power upgrade?
First and foremost, focus on your tuning plan.

Herko

"pinging in the front cylinder at 2500 to 2750 rpm and 70 to 80 kpa."

Poor reading comprehension on my part...darned ADD.

Are you still 14.6 in the high map columns?

jpbo