May 01, 2024, 10:34:25 PM

News:

72 sportster find

Started by lotown, September 15, 2009, 07:12:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lotown

Hey looking for any input.
Im new to the old ironheads and would like to build a bike and feel like this might be a good option for me.

Found a basket for $900 bux

here is my post on club chopper.

Think its a good deal?
I have around 30 pics on page 3 of the parts in the kit.

http://www.clubchopper.com/forums/showthread.php?t=78954

olpigiron

Hey lotown,

If U Do Purchase This Basket Case as U Put It,
   Welcome To The World Of WTF? LOL, It Can Be A Challenge.
With That Said, The First Thing U Need To Do First Is Purchase A
               Parts Manual, and A Service Manual.
                       This Will Indeed Help.

Cheers!

OPI
Cheers....
The Sun Don't Shine On The Same Dogs Ass Everyday....
OPI

Coff 06

06 FX Springer, 98",11/1,9B+4*,HPI 55/58 /5.3inj,HDSP Pro Street heads,123/118

lotown

saltcaveminer

missing parts like the oil pump, tranny gears, cams, etc. can get pricey to replace.check over the cases and look for cracks or old repairs.after that if all looks good-go for it!!i must advise you that every build has its surprises good and bad.the day you fire up the beast will make up for the bad.Salty

Maddog

RE  Kicker on a 72??  Its a XLCH  sure it has a kicker how do you think it starts??     :wtf: 

Maddog

72s were weak in the right side case where the speedo drive was ,,, alot of them broke or cracked the right side case

lotown

Right side meaning the cam side?
I took some pictures of that side and didnt see any cracks but i had no idea where i was looking
I hear the trap door is a bad area but idk where that is

Sonny S.

back by the bottom of the tranny. I bought a 72 XLH basket case in 1987 that hade the cases blown out. Mine wasn't hard to see, you could put your fist through the hole. Had to have a repair section welded in and I ran the speedo off the rear wheel. Drum brake front.