May 01, 2024, 06:29:04 PM

News:

Big Sucker vs. Screaming Eagle

Started by V24me, November 21, 2008, 10:18:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

V24me

Does anyone know if the Arlen Ness Big Sucker air cleaner AND backing plate is better than the SE air cleaner/backing plate?  I know the filters are similar, but wonder if the mounitng plate helps direct more/faster air into the carb?
ALL THAT'S NECCESARY FOR THE TRIUMPH OF EVIL IS FOR GOOD MEN TO DO NOTHING!

road-dawgs1

The AN actually has a better filter than the SE.  It's a K&N clone filter.  The SE filter is a paper filter (washable but not oilable) I also believe the AN is a few bucks cheaper than the SE.  Other than that I think the back plates are just about the same as far as air flow.
'24 FLTRX Sharkskin blue

RainDodger

Unless you have the oilable (older) SE filter. I'm no expert on this, but I'd bet either filter flows more air than your engine can use, unless you've really done some engine work. I'm sure someone with dyno experience will chip in with good info though...

jazzman713

I'm getting ready to order the zippers filter i have read its 1 of the best $115-140 the difference in the cost is how you want the back plate to look

V24me

I have the SE now and my local 'stealer' chose to only carries the AN filter lately, so when my oilable filter got damaged I put the AN one on, but the backing plate for the big sucker looks like it would be better than the early SE one I have now.  Wondering if it would be worth it to upgrade.  I do like the zippers too.

noliners

Check out BC Gerolomy s Overflow aircleaner.       Outflows them all.  I run it with a stock cover to look stealth on my 131" build. Woods TW-68 cams. Darkhorse S/S crank. Tman Heads/wiseco--  225 ccp.  HP inc 56 w/ hiflow injectors.  D/D borzilla.   150hp/150TQ....=FUN to ride Road King     
http://www.bcheads.com/
131 Roadking "No Replacement for Displacement"

GoFast.....

Quote from: V24me on November 21, 2008, 10:18:17 AM