May 04, 2024, 03:37:27 PM

News:

engine ping and race tuner

Started by Ed S, November 30, 2008, 07:24:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ed S

On my 06 FLHX carb. Last winter did 95" upgrade with 203 cams and flat top pistons. Already had rinehart true duals and air filter. Jetted the carb, raised the needle, weaker spring. Bike runs great, very happy with performance, but pings terribly under almost any load, have to ride it like a 2 stroke. Bought Harley race tuner to modify advance curve but it won't communicate with stock module. Is there a procedure not in the user manual? I've tried 2 different computers and 2 different kits. Been an auto mech. for 30 years, I know what I want to do, and I don't believe any dealer tech is going to want to spend the time to fine tune like I will. Anybody know how to make the harley system work, or should I just go for the Crane?

Admiral Akbar

I've got no experience with the SE ignition. Maybe Ed Ederdelyi can help here . IIRC he used them for a bit.. I'd probably take the DTT over the Crane as I'm more familiar with it.. How do you ride a 2 stroke different? The only difference I see is that the rev faster and don't have much compression braking..Maybe your idle is too high??

What was the quench set at?? The problem started when you added the big bore and cams? Any changes to the heads?

Max

Faast Ed

QuoteHow do you ride a 2 stroke different?

Live in the lower gear/less load environment?
≡Faast Ed>

Trouble

On my 95" flattop piston carb'ed '04RK with SE203 cams, HD perf mufflers and freer-breathing intake, I installed the SE ignition module that retards timing 5* at WOT. You can feel it work when you open the throttle and NO PING like I had with a flattop pistoned '99RK @ 95".
You can try and make something idiot-proof, but those idiots are so darn clever

Ed S

November 30, 2008, 08:21:31 AM #4 Last Edit: November 30, 2008, 08:33:57 AM by Ed S