Break in map for 103, how many miles before I can have bike tuned right?

Started by 09fltr, November 30, 2008, 05:54:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

09fltr

Hey guys, I just got the BB kit for my 09 RG put in. The dealer put a break in map with the sest. It seems like it wants to run on 1 cylinder at idle. It also seems like it is running really rich. I didnt want to dyno the bike right after the BB kit was put on. What mileage is it safe to have it tuned properly, it definitely aint running right the way it is. My setup is 103, sest, 255 cams, v&h ovals, se ac. Was I right to wait, or could it have been tuned right away? Also, I asked the tuner some of the questions you guys were talkin about to see if they were qualified, they told me they only do 3 runs to tune a bike. Is that enough, or could they just do so many of these builds, that they have it down to the exact map. Thanks for any input.    Tony

crazycalvin

Tony, First of all I am not a professional tuner, but I highly doubt a bike could be tuned properly in three runs (unless they mean WOT for runs and don't count the runs that they use to set timing, ve, and afr tables).  As far as the mileage is concerned, I would not personally want my bike on the dyno without at least 300 miles on the bottom end and 150 miles on the top end.  I am sure you will get some other explanations and recommendations.  Later, Calvin.

Don D

Break-in map??? The bike is a closed loop bike. I would be running as close to the proper map available for the dealer build. Bump the Closed Loop Bias up for not so lean running at cruise and break it in. If it is rich and the dealer pulled it out of closed loop you risk not seating the rings properly in the extreme case. Break-in needs a close to right map in all but WOT max MAP pressure as most don't hit there until the motor accumulates some miles.

crazycalvin

How rich does it have to be before you have problems with ring seat?  Thanks, Calvin.

Don D