May 05, 2024, 01:00:15 AM

News:

For advertising inquiries or help with registration or other issues, you may contact us by email at help@harleytechtalk.com

2001 TwinCam 88 EFI idling high

Started by watamix, December 01, 2008, 08:35:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

watamix

Hello all...

Sorry, I'm no mechanic, so here's what's probably a very dumb question....

I'm also a loser for not keeping my battery on a battery tender. I haven't ridden for a few months now.

So yesterday when I went to start up my 2001 FLTRI, the battery was dead.
I put a charger on it overnight, and today it's back up to proper voltage, so I started it up.
Once it started, it revved up to about 2000 rpm and stayed there.
Hitting the throttle only made it rev higher and return to idle at about 2000.

I'm hoping someone reading this can tell me what I can do to get it to idle properly again.

Thanks ever so much!

cowboy

thers a sencer in the rear of the front cyl heat sencer if it's bad it will cauce the high idel also double check the rod that holds the butterfly in the throat of you efi mine did this & it was broke in the middle of the screw hole on the left side , I found it be taking the idel control of the left sode of the EFI , also when's the last time you lube your T cables?
cowboy 94 softail
AlvinTX

watamix

thanks for the suggestions, Cowboy

I'll have to check those things... I think it's been a while since the throttle cables were lubed...

Bakon

Take it for a ride. The old MM injection 99-01 was finicky. A ride sometimes will fix the problem in the first couple of minutes. I am not kidding.
The idle should be about 950-1100. 1000 or more is best. Below that it will eat the battery when sitting at idle. Charge the battery, take it for a ride.