May 07, 2024, 05:20:09 PM

News:

Oil Temp guage for FLH

Started by RKC03, December 09, 2008, 09:02:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RKC03

Is there any other choices for monitoring oil temp other than the electronic dipstick that H-D sells, have heard that half of them break/go bad?  TIA     Joe
RKC03

JamLazyAss

have heard that half of them break/go bad?

From what I've seen, that would be correct.
I've seen several of them be returned to the Stealer when I worked in parts.
Not sure what else is available.
I'm not a proctologist, but I know an asshole when I see one...

Scramjet

December 09, 2008, 09:31:38 AM #2 Last Edit: December 09, 2008, 06:15:32 PM by Scramjet
Do a search.  There are numerous posts on the oil temp gauge replacement for the useless air temp gauge.  Harley and McEwen both sell gauges that fit.  It has been debated endlessly (if not here then on the old HTT).

B
07FLHX 107", TR590, D&D, 109HP/112TQ
06FLSTN, 95", SE211, Cycle Shack 91HP/94TQ

Coyote

Most replace the air temp gauge with the oil temp gauge. Make sure to put the temp sensor in the oil pan, not the cooler lines.

marc

I replaced the useless air temp guage with a McEwan oil temp guage...Looks great and works unlike the air temp guage...

Tex_Bagger

I can absolutely Testify that the Air Temp gague is wrong 100% of the time on most baggers.  This is my third FLH and I swear every time I say I'm gonna get that Oil Temp gague and replace what Harley should already be doing.  If they're going to put in a thermometer for gods sake get it right.  It's not like this is new tech stuff here.  I got thiis little digi readout in my 2000 chevy silverado thats always right.  Cmon Harley!  Still don't have the dam oil temp gague!
2016 CVO Street Glide (Black)D&D fatcat
2020 FLRT Freewheeler Trike Bone Stock

marc